Limited Time Offer: Save 30% on PRO with code GETRESULTS »

Real-World Education for Modern Marketers

Join Over 600,000 Marketing Professionals

Start here!
N E X T
Text:  A A

How to Integrate Ratings and Reviews Into Your Social Marketing Programs

by Shoma Sarkar  |  
May 3, 2013
  |  6,081 views

Positive ratings and those 5-star reviews from online consumers are powerful marketing content. Some 70% of Americans say they look at reviews before taking the next step to conversion, and 51% of consumers say they would never buy a large electronic item, such as a TV or computer, without reading at least one piece of user-generated content.

Quite simply, consumers trust other consumers for purchasing advice.

Many marketers have realized the power of ratings and reviews to drive sales from their websites, but few have extended such user-generated content across their social marketing programs.

That's a shame, because positive ratings and reviews are extremely valuable social content that can be amplified across the social Web.

To exponentially increase the value of ratings and reviews, every marketer should include positive customer comments in their social marketing programs across social networks such as Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.


So how can you get all those great ratings and reviews off your website and into the social content stream, in an efficient, measurable way at scale?

Here are three concrete tips to get you started with integrating ratings and reviews into your social marketing.

1. Get organized


Sign up for free to read the full article.Read the Full Article

Membership is required to access the full version of this how-to marketing article ... don't worry though, it's FREE!

WANT TO READ MORE?
SIGN UP TODAY ...
IT'S FREE!

We will never sell or rent your email address to anyone. We value your privacy. (We hate spam as much as you do.) See our privacy policy.

Sign in with one of your preferred accounts below:

Loading...

Shoma Sarkar is product marketing manager at Spredfast, a leading independent social marketing software provider. Reach her via ssarkar@spredfast.com.

Twitter: @shoma617

Rate this  

Overall rating

  • Not rated yet.

Add a Comment

Comments

  • by David W Fri May 3, 2013 via web

    I just read another article which quotes research that the quantity of reviews is a significant factor in influencing buyer's decision making.

    Good Summary.

  • by Srinivas Penumaka Fri May 3, 2013 via web

    This article brings up an important point of using customer voice in social media marketing. So far, businesses have focused on dealing with customer voice from risk management point of view and seldom paid attention to positive voice.

    However, the big missing piece in the article is the fact that reviews on brands' web sites are sparse, dated and not authentic. When you are using customer voice in social media marketing, you need authentic, contextual, high - quality content. And social content is the best source for such high-quality content as long as you are able to filter the content for quality and relevancy and know the people who are giving the content (content producers). So, the big opportunity for brands is to use social content to influence prospective customers in addition to sharing best reviews in social media.

    Srinivas Penumaka
    Co-Founder, ReadyPulse

  • by Vinay Bhagat, CEO TrustRadius Fri May 3, 2013 via web

    Shoma - a good article with some practical advice. With respect to the quantity of reviews, in consumer purchasing, the # of reviews present are a factor, but a bigger factor when comparing products is if a product has zero reviews. I've heard from folks at Bazaarvoice (who powers many B2C/retail review sites) that the average consumer reads 7 reviews, so you don't need enormous numbers. I also think the point you make about authenticity is critical. In the B2B tech world, the AppExchange has lost some trust, because all the reviews seem to be 5/5, which lacks credibility.

    I'd be curious as to your perspective on how B2B marketers can and should embrace this trend?

    At TrustRadius, we're trying to bring the power of end-user reviews to the world of enterprise tech, where today decision makers, rely on ad hoc word of mouth input, industry analysts who are not hands on product users themselves, or most commonly content from vendors.

  • by Seshu Fri May 3, 2013 via web

    Good read, I am still trying to figure out the RoI part of how to measure it in hard dollar terms - is it possible for example take the weekly reach on Facebook and calculate per person cost reach within an industry and calculate how much the business has spent vis-a-vis the actual cost it would take to reach the same number either wise? Would that be an indicator or more of a cost saving? Any person who has seen a post on facebook, will you know if that person has walked into the door of that business because of that post. Even if that is the case how will you measure it if that person has walked into the door because of that post - unless there is some kind of a code/referral tied to that particular engagement?

  • by Ben Jabbawy, Privy Mon May 6, 2013 via web

    Really well said, Shoma. We actually encourage our clients to use customer reviews as content for landing pages, social media posts and email newsletters. And we're even building tools to help them earn reviews from great customers.

    Ben
    Founder, Privy

  • by PBCC Company Tue May 14, 2013 via web

    Keeping things human is a big and often forgotten key to social media marketing for brands.

  • by Rusty P. Mon Aug 19, 2013 via web

    Great post Shoma - thanks for sharing. My business has also had great results using OpinionAmp for online marketing. OpinionAmp gets reviews from my real customers and takes those reviews online to the culture and target audience we're trying to reach with our product. I've got nothing but positive things to say about the process - incredible results for my small business!

  • by Alisha Wed Feb 5, 2014 via web

    Do you have a Fan Review app that you recommend for Facebook?

  • by Ashley Thu Jan 7, 2016 via web

    I am in charge of posting to our company’s social media pages. I wanted to share good reviews about our product from Google Reviews. Am I legally allowed to post what people said on online reviews (I would not change any wording in their reviews and would include the name and where I got the review)?

MarketingProfs uses single
sign-on with Facebook, Twitter, Google and others to make subscribing and signing in easier for you. That's it, and nothing more! Rest assured that MarketingProfs: Your data is secure with MarketingProfs SocialSafe!